Thursday, October 17, 2013

Who's On Top: Children's Books


Top 5 Children’s Books:
Picture Book:
1. PETE THE CAT AND HIS MAGIC SUNGLASSES, by Kimberly and James Dean. Illustrated by James Dean
2. THE DAY THE CRAYONS QUIT, by Drew Daywalt. Illustrated by Oliver Jeffers
3. GOODNIGHT, GOODNIGHT, CONSTRUCTION SITE, by Sherri Duskey Rinker and Tom Lichtenheld
4. LLAMA LLAMA AND THE BULLY GOAT, by Anna Dewdney
5. PETE THE CAT: I LOVE MY WHITE SHOES, by Eric Litwin. Illustrated by James Dean
Spotlight:
PETE THE CAT AND HIS MAGIC SUNGLASSES
by Kimberly and James Dean. Illustrated by James Dean

Pete the Cat is back in New York Times bestselling author James Dean's picture book Pete the Cat and His Magic Sunglasses. Pete the Cat wakes up feeling grumpy—nothing seems to be going his way. But with the help of some magic sunglasses, Pete learns that a good mood has been inside him all along. Readers will love watching Pete take his positive outlook and transform a grumpy day into an awesome day! Fans of Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes and Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons will love joining Pete in his latest groovy picture book.



Middle Grade:
1. WONDER, by R. J. Palacio
2. TREASURE HUNTERS, by James Patterson and others
3. WILD BORN, by Brandon Mull
4. THE ONE AND ONLY IVAN, by Katherine Applegate
5. FLORA AND ULYSSES, by Kate DiCamillo. Illustrated by K. G. Campbell
Spotlight:
FLORA AND ULYSSES
by Kate DiCamillo. Illustrated by K. G. Campbell

Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel by master storyteller Kate DiCamillo. It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is the just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry—and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart. From #1 New York Times best-selling author Kate DiCamillo comes a laugh-out-loud story filled with eccentric, endearing characters and featuring an exciting new format—a novel interspersed with comic-style graphic sequences and full-page illustrations, all rendered in black-and-white by up-and-coming artist K.G. Campbell.

Young Adult:
1. THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, by John Green
2. DIVERGENT, by Veronica Roth
3. THE BOOK THIEF, by Markus Zusak
4. INSURGENT, by Veronica Roth
5. ENDLESS KNIGHT, by Kresley Cole
Spotlight:  
ENDLESS KNIGHT
by Kresley Cole

In this seductive follow-up to Poison Princess, #1 New York Timesbestselling author Kresley Cole takes us deeper into the dark world of the Arcana Chronicles.

Shocking Secrets

Evie has fully come into her powers as the Tarot Empress, and Jack was there to see it all. She now knows that the teens who've been reincarnated as the Tarot are in the throes of an epic battle. It's kill or be killed, and the future of mankind hangs in the balance.

Unexpected Allies

With threats lurking around every corner, Evie is forced to trust her newfound alliance. Together they must fight not only other Arcana, but also Bagmen zombies, post-apocalyptic storms, and cannibals.

Gut-Wrenching Treachery

When Evie meets Death, things get even more complicated. Though falling for Jack, she's drawn to the dangerous Endless Knight as well. Somehow the Empress and Death share a history, one that Evie can't remember—but Death can't forget.

Series:
1. THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS, by Cassandra Clare
2. THE HUNGER GAMES, by Suzanne Collins
3. PERCY JACKSON & THE OLYMPIANS, by Rick Riordan
4. DIARY OF A WIMPY KID, written and illustrated by Jeff Kinney
5. GIVER QUARTET, by Lois Lowry
Spotlight:
Messenger
by Lois Lowry

Lois Lowry’s Messenger continues the quartet beginning with the quintessential dystopian novel, The Giver, and Gathering Blue, followed by Son.

For the past six years, Matty has lived in Village and flourished under the guidance of Seer, a blind man, known for his special sight. Village was a place that welcomed newcomers, but something sinister has seeped into Village and the people have voted to close it to outsiders. Matty has been invaluable as a messenger. Now he must make one last journey through the treacherous forest with his only weapon, a power he unexpectedly discovers within himself.

Disclaimer: All blurbs come from Goodreads.com, all list come from NYTimes.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment