Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Book Cover & Blurb: The Cure

richards 07 17 13
THE CURE
A riveting technothriller in the tradition of Michael Crichton and Douglas Preston, from the New York Times bestselling author of WIRED
“The Cure will keep you turning the pages all night long.”
—Douglas Preston, New York Times #1 bestselling author of Impact
~
“Richards is a tremendous new talent. The Cure is an extraordinarily good novel that will keep you riveted...and thinking.”
—Stephen Coonts, New York Times bestselling author of Pirate Alley

If you found the cure for the psychopathic condition, just how far would you go to use it?
Psychopaths seem to be at epidemic levels, and new research indicates their brains differ from those of normals, possibly accounting for their absolute selfishness, ruthlessness, and lack of conscience. And while most aren’t the Hannibal Lecter type, even the seemingly benign psychopaths among us inevitably leave a trail of shattered lives in their wakes.
THE CURE provides an eye-opening look at what is known about psychopathy within an intriguing, explosive, roller-coaster-ride of a novel that will keep both thriller fans, and science fiction fans, reading deep into the night.
Erin Palmer had a devastating encounter with a psychopath as a child. Now a grad student and scientist, she’s devoting her life to studying these monsters. When her research catches the attention of Hugh Raborn, a brilliant neuroscientist who claims to have isolated the genes responsible for psychopathic behavior, Erin realizes it may be possible to reverse this condition, restoring souls to psychopaths. But to do so, she’ll not only have to operate outside of the law, but violate her most cherished ethical principles.
When Erin learns Raborn harbors dark secrets, all hell breaks loose. Is he working for the good of society? Or is he intent on bringing humanity to its knees? Hunted by powerful, shadowy forces, and battling for her life, Erin teams up with Kyle Hansen, another mystery man, and finds herself a pawn in a global conspiracy. One capable of destroying everything she holds dear. And forever altering the course of human history . . .
About the book:
The Cure by Douglas E. Richards
ISBN: 978-0-7653-7409-7
Publisher: Forge Books
Date of publish: September 2013
Pages: 320
S.R.P.: $24.99
About the author:
Douglas E. Richards has been widely praised for his ability to weave action, suspense, and science into riveting novels that brilliantly straddle the thriller and science fiction genres. He is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of WIRED, its sequel, AMPED, and six critically acclaimed adventures for kids. A former biotech executive, Richards earned a BS in microbiology from the Ohio State University and a master's degree in genetic engineering from the University of Wisconsin (where he engineered mutant viruses now named after him). The author currently lives in San Diego, California, with his wife, two children, and two dogs.

No comments:

Post a Comment