Sunday, September 23, 2012

My three favorite book series

By William G. Muir
Every time I finish a book a melancholy feeling falls over me. A sadness begins creeping into my soul. Never have I felt this way after watching a tv show or movie. After viewing these two visual art forms I am almost always left feeling joyful. But not so with a book. As I close the covers for the last time it is almost as if I have lost an old friend. There is so much more of an active role that one engages in when reading a book. You become part of the story as oppose to just being an outside observe as you are when watching either a tv show or a movie.

This is why I prefer reading books that are part of a larger series. I know once that I have come to the end of one book I can always open another and continue to follow the adventures of characters that have grown attached to.

So here are my top three favorite book series.

Dragonlance, The Chronicle Trilogy: 
The Chronicle trilogy follows a band of six misfit friends. After a three hundred year absence,  known as the Great Cataclysm, the True Gods have returned. With their return a war between good and evil is brewing. The evil goddess Takhisis once again wishes to rule the world of man. With help of the evil dragons, she raise an army to conquer all of Kyrnn. Our six companions must rally the forces of good to face Takhisis's Dragonarmies. Along the way they must convince the good dragons to return to the world; learn how to use the Dragon Orbs; relearn how to forge the fabled Dragonlances and learn the identity of the Green Gem Man. If they can accomplish these goals then maybe they can crush the evil Dragonarmies and block Takhisis from reentering the world.

The Soldier’s Son Trilogy: 
The Soldier’s Son trilogy follows the life of Nevare Burvelle, the second son of a new elevated noble, who himself had been a second son of a noble. In the Kingdom of Gernia the career of the sons of the noble class are determined by their birth order. This means Nevare must take his place as his father's soldier son. Through the series Nevare must not only discover his own strength, but must also learn to deal with the changes that are happening to him after a run in with the Speck people.

The Earth's Children: 
The Earth's Children series is a speculative history series of novels that take place across Europe during the Upper Paleolithic era (Late Stone Age) around 30,000 years ago. The novels revolve around the lives of the Cro-Magnons, most notable a woman named Ayla and her unique relationship with both her own kind, the Cro-Magnons and the people who raised her, the Neanderthals. The best known book of the series is the first book, The Clan Of The Cave Bear.

No comments:

Post a Comment